sunnyweed's Blog



Tokyo Ghoul hype *SPOILERS*

I am way too hyped about this series right now, so I’m just going to rant.

….SPOILERS…

So… I first started reading tokyo ghoul (henceforth, “tg”) when I found it on mangaupdates… I believe it only had at most one update at the time. I put it on my wishlist and put it off for a week or so. Then I read it.

To be honest, tg was not what I was expecting at all. The summary for tg is:

“Strange murders are happening in Tokyo. Due to liquid evidence at the scene, the police conclude the attacks are the results of ‘eater’ type ghouls. College buddies Kaneki and Hide come up with the idea that ghouls are imitating humans so that’s why they haven’t ever seen one. Little did they know that their theory may very well become reality.”

Just by looking at it, it seems like it would be just some kind of typical horror story, like zombies or humanity fighting against monsters. Standard fare, eh? Which was what it was like through the beginning up until rize attacks kaneki, and then bam! Suddenly kaneki is a ghoul. Was not expecting that at all. Anyways, after that, tokyo ghoul was an alright manga, it wasn’t amazing but it was interesting enough to keep me reading it when the occasional releases came out (it was a new series, after all). I don’t really know why I stuck with it because none of the themes or characters really intrigued me, but for some reason after hinami’s mother is killed and they finally confront mado I was overcome with a desire to read the raws (shit was getting real even around chapter 20). (The “raws” i found were actually chinese translations, but that’s not too important.) To my surprise there were around 80 something of them at the time. Being bored, I read the newest ones and became extremely confused. “what’s going on?” “who’s this white haired kid?” “is this kaneki?” “who’s that?” “what did I miss?” and of course I eventually stumbled upon chapter ~65, and while barely understanding what was going on, I got hooked.

Of course, at some point in time many other people started realizing this and then scanlation status went to hell. Soooo many random releases at the time of what people considered the “cool” chapters and this pretty much continued up until the series was about to end. All a mess, and I gave in to the temptation and read the chapters, out of order, as they came out.

I still don’t really know why I’m obsessed with the next chapter coming out this much. Maybe because the manga’s non conventional enough. Maybe because of how badass kaneki is at times. Maybe because it truly was a tragedy. Maybe because of the unexpected turns. Maybe because ishida sui is king of hype.

Still, I would definitely say tokyo ghoul is unique. There truly was no “good” or “bad”. Both the ghouls and the ccg had reasons to fight. I guess the only sin people really had was losing control and giving in to their desires. Rize and her hunger, mado with his revenge, kaneki and his ghoul instincts, tsukiyama just being crazy, (and eto just hated everyone.) The characterizations were just good. T_T

Either way, ishida sui is the ultimate troll. He could not have stopped the series at a more hyped up time than that. At this point in time he’s made too many unexpected twists and turns so that we really aren’t sure what’s going to happen in tg:re.

okay, so that’s enough ranting for now. I just saw spoilers/leaks for tg:re 4 and had to vent.

edit: about tg re: I think sasaki is different from kaneki because throughout the entire tg, kaneki was rather unhappy and unsure of himself. Meanwhile, sasaki is more happy. anyways, I think they’re the same person. Sasaki is just a kaneki that is similar to his pre-ghoul self and one that is more confident in himself (growing up, I guess)

Leave a Reply

